Oxford academics honoured in New Year Honours List 2024

Several University of Oxford members have been recognised in the 2024 New Year Honours List, which celebrates the service and achievements of outstanding people across the UK.

The List includes Professor Molly Stevens, who has been appointed Dame Commander of the Order of the British Empire (DBE) for services to Medicine. Professor Stevens is a professor of Bionanoscience at the Department of Physiology, Anatomy & Genetics and the Institute for Biomedical Engineering. She also leads the Stevens Group, a research programme pioneering accessible healthcare technologies, and has won over 40 awards, most recently the Novo Nordisk Award in 2023.

Professor Neil Mortensen has been knighted for services to Surgery. He is a Professor of Colorectal Surgery at the University of Oxford Medical School, and an Emeritus Fellow of Green Templeton College. Professor Mortensen chairs Occtopus, the Oxford Colon Cancer Trust charity, supporting breakthrough research and treatments for colorectal diseases.

He commented: “Surgeons deserve the recognition implied in this honour and I am grateful to accept it on their behalf.”

Professor Roger Goodman was awarded Commander (CBE) for services to Social Science. Currently a Nissan Professor of Modern Japanese Studies, he served as Head of the University’s Social Sciences Division for ten years. In 1993, Professor Goodman became the first University Lecturer in the Social Anthropology of Japan, and in 2017 was also appointed Warden of St Antony’s College, where he completed his DPhil.

Also receiving a CBE is Professor Elizabeth Robertson, Professor of Developmental Biology and research fellow at the Sir William Dunn School of Pathology, for services to Medical Sciences. She has worked at Oxford, Cambridge, Harvard, and Columbia, and was awarded the Royal Medal in 2016 for “her innovative work within the field of mouse embryology and development”.

Three more academics have been appointed OBE for contributions to their fields. These are Professor Roger Heath-Brown, Emeritus Fellow at the Mathematical Institute and Magdalen College, for services to Mathematics and Mathematical Research; Professor Julia Yeomans, Head of the Rudolf Peierls Centre for Theoretical Physics, for services to Physics; and Professor Daniela Bortoletto, Head of Particle Physics and member of the Higgs boson discovery team, for services to Particle Physics and to Gender Equality.

This marks the first time a member of the University has been honoured for services to Gender Equality. Of the 1,227 people recognised in the 2024 Honours List, 588 were women, totalling 48 percent – this shows a slight decline from 2023, where women comprised 50 percent of recipients.

Two Member grades (MBEs) have also been awarded to University members. Alexandra Vincent, Head of Divisional Registrar and Chief Operating Officer of the Humanities Division, received an MBE for services to Research Funding. Professor Matthew Snape, previous Professor of Paediatrics and Vaccinology at the Oxford Vaccine Group, has been appointed MBE for services to Public Health.

Dorothy Margaret Whittington, a volunteer at Oxford University Newcomers, has also been appointed Medallist (BEM) for services to Volunteering and Higher Education.

Associated with the University, Gregory Doran, recently Artistic Director for the Royal Shakespeare Company, has been knighted for services to the Arts. Doran was appointed as the 30th Cameron Mackintosh Visiting Professor of Contemporary Theatre at St Catherine’s College in May 2023, and will direct a student-led production of Shakespeare’s The Two Gentlemen of Verona in Trinity 2024.

These recipients join many other stars on the 2024 Honours List. Three Lionesses of the England women’s football squad have been honoured, including BBC Sports Personality of the Year 2023 Mary Earps. Other leading names on the List are Bond singer Shirley Bassey, actress Emilia Clarke, and former Health Secretary Sajid Javid.

Image credit: rovenimages via Pexels

Image description: A fireworks display celebrating the New Year.